Exercise: Measuring Exposure Part Two

For this exercise, you were asked to produce 5-6 photographs of any subjects. Each subject, you were asked to make five exposures of. You firstly needed to find out what the average exposure for the subject was. You then arranged the exposures around this. The first should be one stop darker, the second should be half a stop darker, then the third image should be the average image, the fourth should be half a stop lighter and the fifth should be one stop lighter.

You were then advised to look at the average exposure image and see if it was as you would expect. You then had to look at the other exposed images to see if any others were acceptable.

One: Dark to Light

dark

less dark

average

less light

light

I am pleased with the average exposed image as it does show how the plant looked when I photographed it, however, I am pleased with the image which was taken a half stop darker. I believe that the half stop darker image shows a lot more detail on the flower itself than with the average exposed image.

less dark

Two: Dark to Light

dark tree

less dark tree

average tree

less light tree

light tree

I am also pleased with the average exposed image as it does show how the tree looked when I photographed it, however, I am pleased with the image which was taken a half stop darker and one stop darker. I believe that the half stop darker image shows a lot more detail on the tree however, I also like the one stop darker image as well.

less dark tree

Three: Dark to Light

dark

dark2

average

light

light2

Im pleased with the average exposed image as it does show how the plant looked when I photographed it, however, I am pleased with the image which was taken a half stop darker. I believe that the half stop darker image shows a lot more detail on the plant and the surrounding leaves.

dark2

Four: Dark to Light

dark

less dark

average

less light

light

Im pleased with the average exposed image, however, I am pleased with the image which was taken a half stop lighter.

less light

Leave a comment