Exercise Positioning the Horizon

With a photograph, if there are no obvious points of interest in the view, the horizon line can be the most important element in the picture.

For this exercise, you were asked to find a viewpoint outdoors that gives you an interesting landscape in which there is an unbroken, clear horizon.

I decided to do this exercise whilst I took a trip to Clevedon beach. The horizon line would be perfect for this exercise.

I used my tripod for this exercise as I was able to tilt the camera up and down to position the horizon differently in each image.

I also used the composition tool on my camera. It divides the screen in the viewfinder, and by doing this I was able to position the horizon easier.

First Photograph:

For this first image, I positioned the horizon line towards the top of the frame.

Image

Taken Using:

Aperture:F/8.0

Shutter Speed:1/125 sec

ISO:64

Distance: Focal Length 10.4mm (equivalent to 62mm on a 35mm film camera)

As you can see, there is more foreground in this image and less sky.

Positioning the horizon towards the top of the frame gives the image great depth. Having a lot of foreground in the image takes the focus off of the horizon line as you are now looking at the entire frame rather than just the horizon.

Second Photograph:

For this image, I positioned the horizon halfway to the top.

Image

Taken Using:

Aperture:F/8.0

Shutter Speed:1/180 sec

ISO:64

Distance: Focal Length 10.4mm (equivalent to 62mm on a 35mm film camera)

This image is beginning to let more sky into the frame.

Positioning the horizon line just below the top but not central, still gives great depth to the image.

Third Photograph:

For this image, I positioned the horizon central in the frame.

Image

Taken Using:

Aperture:F/8.0

Shutter Speed:1/220 sec

ISO:64

Distance: Focal Length 10.4mm (equivalent to 62mm on a 35mm film camera)

This image has an equal amount of sky and foreground in the frame.

Positioning the horizon line central in the frame gives the image an equal,static composition.

Fourth Photograph:

For this image, I positioned the horizon half way towards the bottom of the frame. Just off centre.

Image

Taken Using:

Aperture:F/8.0

Shutter Speed:1/220 sec

ISO:64

Distance: Focal Length 10.4mm (equivalent to 62mm on a 35mm film camera)

In this image, there is more sky than foreground.Placing the horizon line here allows the sky to be more dominant. However, it also gives the feeling that the pier is gradually coming closer as there isn’t too much foreground to make it feel distant.

Fifth Photograph:

For this image, I positioned the horizon right at the bottom of the frame.

Image

Taken Using:

Aperture:F/8.0

Shutter Speed:1/250 sec

ISO:64

Distance: Focal Length 10.4mm (equivalent to 62mm on a 35mm film camera)

This image shows only the sky and horizon line. There is no foreground.Therefore drawing your view to the horizon line and the pier in the corner.

Favourite Image:

My favourite image would have to be the third photograph. I prefer the horizon line central in the frame as it creates a balanced image. Your attention is still drawn to the horizon line, however, you are also drawn to the rest of the image. Your not focusing on one item in the image.

Overall Opinion:

I liked this exercise, especially as I was able to photograph a beautiful setting. It took me a few times to choose the right location. I took some photographs of just the water and the sky, but you couldn’t really see the horizon line. Choosing the beach ‘mud’ and the pier as something to focus on, allowed me to create a scenic image as well as showing the changing horizon lines.

 

 

 

Leave a comment