Exercise Balance

The idea of balance is fundamental in composition;it applies not just to where a subject is positioned, but to every kind of arrangement. Balance means setting up equilibrium between two or more parts of something.

Two unequal objects can be balanced by placing them carefully in the frame so that the larger object is closer to the centre and the smaller one nearer to the edge of the frame. Maximum symmetry occurs when objects or lines radiate around the frame’s centre giving symmetry on all axes.

Balance does not have to be simply between two obvious objects. It can be between and object and a background, or between two different areas of tone or colour.

For this exercise, you were asked to choose 6 of your own photographs which you have previously taken yourself. You then had to decided how the balance works in each photograph. It didn’t matter whether or not the main element in the picture are masses of tone, or colour. You had to look for what you seemed to believe was the ‘dominant’ part or parts of the image.

You then had to identify the ‘dominant’ parts and draw a small rectangular sketch around the item. Then you had to draw a weighing scale to show the balance or off-balance in your image.

First Photograph:

The first photograph I chose to look at was one of two blue flowers I had taken a few years ago. I didn’t think much about composition at this point. It was more of a point and shoot image.

The balance between two subjects and colour. As you can see, one flower is higher than the second. There is some sort of balance in this image, even though you can clearly see the difference in height of the flowers. If the flowers were to be positioned side by side, it wouldn’t have the same feel to the image, it would be too cramped. The division in height and colour with the bright green stem cuts the bold blue colour and balances it out. Having a white background also helps.

Second Photograph:

The second photograph was of a seagull also taken a while back.

This photograph is balanced. The seagull is positioned directly in the centre of the frame.

Third Photograph:

The third photograph is of 3 tortoise.

The balance between subjects. This photographs shows three large tortoise. The one large on in the front is the main focal point, however, the two smaller ones in the back balance this image out. The way they are positioned make them almost as large as the main large tortoise in the front.

Fourth Photograph:

The fourth photograph is of a sunset.

The balance between two colours. Even though the division of the colours isn’t exactly 50-50, with the horizon line in the frame, the division between the light red and the dark sea is somewhat equal.Also the sun and the reflection on the sea is mirrored and central.

Overall Opinion:

I found this exercise quite difficult. Before I began this course, I didn’t really take too much time in composing my image unless it was for my a-level work. If I was out and saw something like the sunset or flowers, I would position myself to get the photograph I wanted. I did take more than one photograph of the same subject in different positions, but I have never really thought about composing my image with balance between subjects or colours etc until now. I usually divided the frame without too much thought. Looking back through my work, it is hard to choose photographs which in my opinion show obvious balance such as the tortoise photograph. Therefore I have only chosen 4 which I can see a balance in. I now understand how important it is to double look at everything you take a photograph of, whether its a subject or a location. Like some of the previous exercises, I will now look for either colours or items in the frame which will show some type of balance in the final photograph.

Leave a comment