Exercise Focal Length and Angle of View

This first exercise was set to help you understand  focal length.

The exercise was to take pictures of the same view using different lenses and different focal lengths in order to understand how close or far from the subject the image produced had to be in order to be the same size.

I am currently using my Fujifilm Finepix S2950 camera.

It is a digital camera with a zoom lens. The focal length is f=5.0 – 90.0 mm, equivalent to 28 – 504mm on a 35 mm camera and the full-aperture is F3.1(Wide) – F5.6 (Telephoto).

The first photograph to be taken was to point the camera at any scene, keep both eyes open, one looking through the viewfinder and  the other looking directly at the scene.It had to be of standard focal length (approx 20-25mm).

First Photograph:

Image

This is the first photograph. I took this using a tripod.
The tree was the same size in the viewfinder as it was when I was looking at it.
Taken at 5mm focal length.
Focal Length (in 35 mm film), 29mm
ISO 200
Exposure 1/80 sec
Aperture F/4.2
This was my ‘standard focal length’ image, however, it is also my widest view as I can’t change my lens of my camera. Therefore, this one photograph is my ‘Standard and Widest focal length view’.

Second Photograph:

Image

This is the second photograph, again taken using my tripod.

The third photograph needed to show a section of the scene larger in the viewfinder.

I zoomed into the tree section as I liked the shape of the branches.

Taken at focal length.12mm
Focal Length (in 35 mm film), 72mm
ISO 200
Exposure 1/80 sec
Aperture F/4.2

The Third photograph:

Image

As I have one photograph which is my Standard focal length and Widest view, I decided to take a photograph at its farthest zoom point.

This photograph was taken at:

Taken at focal length.85mm
Focal Length (in 35 mm film), 282mm
ISO 800
Exposure 1/85 sec
Aperture F/5.6

Overall opinion:

I did have some trouble with this exercise as I don’t have a DSLR camera, and was unable to change the lens in order to stop my standard and widest focal length being the same.

Therefore, I added an extra photograph and showed my farthest zoom point.

As my setting was a large tree which was up a hill, I was unable to complete the exercise which asked for you to hold up an A4 print of the standard view photograph and measure the distance from your eye, to your ‘comfortable viewing’ distance.

This would be an exercise I would have to try to repeat in order to me to find the ‘comfortable viewing’ distance

Leave a comment